Metro Vancouver residents, businesses, and cities gain recognition for cycling improvements at HUB Cycling’s Bike Awards

Bowinn Ma, MLA for North Vancouver-Lonsdale and the Minister of State for Infrastructure, won the 2022 Arno Schortinghuis Lifetime Achievement Award awarded by HUB Cycling at the 9th Annual HUB Bike Awards on February 24, 2022. She stands in front of her e-bike smiling and holding her award.

March 10, 2022

On February 24, 2022, HUB Cycling’s Bike Awards returned for its ninth year to celebrate the people that are making cycling more accessible across the region. 

More than 150 people across Metro Vancouver zoomed into the free awards ceremony which recognized municipalities, organizations, schools, and community volunteers for their contributions to making people of all ages and abilities feel more comfortable and safer on two wheels. 

Minister of State for Infrastructure Bowinn Ma, won the Arno Schortinghuis Lifetime Achievement Award for her leadership in ensuring active transportation is at the forefront of major infrastructure improvements, such as the upgrades to the Massey Tunnel and the Pattullo bridge. The City of Delta won the Biggest Leap Award for their commitment to ensuring Delta elementary school students learn road safety and for their work developing a Cycling Master Plan for Delta. Other award winners include community volunteers such as Donna Kwan of Richmond for her work spearheading cycling safety programs at Burnett Secondary, South Delta Bikes for the People’s Choice Award in the bike shops category, and the City of Coquitlam for an Infrastructure Improvement Award for the King Albert Greenway extension.  

This year’s Bike Awards was hosted by CBC video journalist Uytae Lee, a contributor to the CBC’s Early Edition on urban planning issues in Vancouver.

Award winners were selected based on their effort and investment in the following areas:

  • commitment to cycling education, 
  • buildings with bike-friendly amenities,
  • commitment to bike-related research,
  • event and advocacy initiatives, 
  • cycling infrastructure improvements, and 
  • event participation in Go by Bike Week, Bike to School Week, and Bike to Shop 

This year, twelve elected officials from across the region presented at the Bike Awards including:

  • Provincial Minister of Finance Hon. Selina Robinson and Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport Hon. Melanie Mark
  • Delta South MLA Ian Paton and Vancouver-False Creek MLA Brenda Bailey
  • Mayor of Coquitlam Richard Stewart, Mayor of Richmond Malcolm Brodie, and Mayor of New Westminster Jonathan Cote
  • North Vancouver City Councillor Tony Valente, and City of Vancouver Councillor Christine Boyle
  • Vancouver School Board trustee Carmen Cho, North Vancouver School District trustee Kulvir Mann, and Conseil scolaire francophone de la Colombie-Britannique trustee Patrick Gatien


Complete List of Award Winners by Municipality


City of Burnaby

  • Go by Bike Week Champion: Ballard - Power to VeloCity


City of Coquitlam

  • Bike to Shop Champion: Austin Heights BIA
  • Infrastructure Improvement Award: City of Coquitlam for King Albert Greenway
  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Local Committee Advocacy): Colin Fowler


City of Delta

  • Biggest Leap Award: City of Delta
  • People’s Choice Award - Best Bike Shop: South Delta Bikes


City of New Westminster

  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Local Committee Advocacy): Fulton Tom 
  • Bike-Friendly Building Certification - Gold: School District #40 for New Westminster High School


City and District of North Vancouver

  • Arno Schortinghuis - Lifetime Achievement Award: MLA Bowinn Ma
  • Bike to School Week Award - Top School with Most Trips: École Boundary Elementary


City of Surrey

  • Go by Bike Week Appreciation Award: Fraser Health
  • People’s Choice Award - Best Individual: Joe Viel (Cloverdale Community Bikes)


City of Richmond

  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Local Committee Advocacy): Donna Kwan


City of Vancouver

  • Infrastructure Improvement Award: City of Vancouver for The Richards Street Project
  • People’s Choice Award - Best Organization or Business: Chill Rides Vancouver
  • School Cycling Advocate: Mitchell Taylor, Stratford Hall
  • Cycling Education Champion: Red Fox Healthy Living Society
  • Bike-Friendly Building Certification - Platinum: Boffo Developments for The Smithe
  • Bike-Friendly Building Certification - Gold: Hudson Pacific Properties for the Bentall Centre
  • Bike to School Week Award - Top School with Most Riders: Kerrisdale Elementary
  • Bike to School Week Award - Top First Time School: École Anne-Hébert, Annexe Henderson
  • Bike to Shop Champion: Strathcona BIA
  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Events): Lorna Seifried


District of West Vancouver

  • Infrastructure Improvements Award: District of West Vancouver, Squamish Nation & Park Royal for Spirit Trail & Capilano River Connector


Miss the event? No worries. Watch it back at your own convenience at this link.