Over Twenty Cycling Leaders Celebrated at HUB Cycling’s 11th Annual Bike Awards

A photo of TransLink staff at HUB Cycling's Bike Awards.

March 11, 2024

HUB Cycling’s Bike Awards returned for its eleventh year last night to celebrate the people making cycling more accessible across the region. 

More than 100 cycling advocates, politicians, and regional and provincial decision-makers attended the awards ceremony held in downtown Vancouver at The Cinematheque. Rob Fleming, B.C.’s Minister of Transportation & Infrastructure, gave a promising welcome address via video reinforcing B.C.’s commitment to building more safe cycling infrastructure. TransLink’s CEO Kevin Quinn then spoke and explained how cycling contributes to prosperity in the region, highlighting the importance of TransLink’s Access for Everyone Plan, which includes 450 KMs of new cycling routes as part of the Major Bikeway Network, and building cycling networks in all 26 urban centers. 

Throughout the evening, municipalities, schools, organizations, and community leaders were recognized for their contributions to making people of all ages and abilities feel more comfortable and safer on two wheels.

We want to thank our generous sponsors and supporters for making this event possible: TransLink, Downtown Van, BCAA, Evolve, Richards Buell Sutton LLP, Bunt & Associates, Urban Systems, Kinetic Parking Solutions, Edna's Cocktails, PYUR Vodka Soda, Luppolo Brewing, Central City Brewers, Nude Beverages, Science World, OHM Electric Bikes, Let's Go Biking, and Myodetox.

We'd also like to extend a huge thank you to Uytae Lee from About Here for hosting the event and to our photographer at @YaletownAgency for capturing the evening!

Check out the complete list of award winners by Municipality below:

City of Burnaby:

  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Bike Education): Gwen Litchfield

Tri-Cities (Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, and Port Moody):

  • Infrastructure Improvement Award: Guildford Greenway - City of Coquitlam
  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Local Committee): Colleen MacDonald

City of Delta:

  • Bike to School Week Top First-time School: Hawthorne Elementary

City of New Westminster:

  • Infrastructure Improvement Award: New Westminster Secondary School Cycling Connector - City of New Westminster
  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Local Committee): Brad Barber

City of Maple Ridge:

  • People's Choice Award - Business or Organization: Bikes for Farm Workers BC
  • Bike to School Week - Top School for Number of Riders: Yennadon Elementary

City of Richmond:

  • Cycling Education Champion: City of Richmond
  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Local Committee): Jesse Li
  • Arno Schortinghuis Cycling Champion of the Year Award: Joan Caravan

City of Surrey:

  • Biggest Leap Award: City of Surrey

City of Vancouver:

  • Go By Bike Week Appreciation Award: Oxford Properties
  • Go By Bike Week Champion: Vancouver Coastal Health
  • Bike to Shop Champion: Vancouver City Centre Bike Valet
  • Volunteer Appreciation Award (Events): Christopher Reid
  • School Cycling Advocate: Lucy Maloney
  • People's Choice Award - Bike Shop: Kickstand
  • People's Choice Award - Individual: Maya Goldstein

Metro Vancouver:

  • Biggest Leap Award: TransLink

View the Facebook Photo Album Here.


Uytae Lee presents at the HUB Bike Awards. Two winners from the City of Richmond hold the HUB Cycling Cycling Education Champion of the Year Award.